Truant member of pro-governmental party included in Rechytsa Constituency Election Commission again

2012 2012-07-12T17:43:32+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

During the previous parliamentary elections a member of the National Party of Labor and Justice Yury Zhurau didn't come to any sittings of the constituency election commission despite being its member. However, he has been included in the commission during the present election campaign, too.

10 out of 13 members of the Rechytsa constituency election commission #44 have already worked at election commissions during parliamentary and presidential elections. The composition of the election commissions remains almost the same during different elections. Local officials and ideologists are always included in them. In particular, the deputy head on ideology of a pedagogical college Iryna Abramovich was included as a nominee of the “state NGO” “Belaya Rus”. Another civil organization, “Belarusian Peace Foundation”, nominated the deputy head of the Rechytsa District Executive Committee Vital Atamanchuk.

Yury Zhurau, a representative of the National Party of Labor and Justice, was included in the constituency election commission as well. During the parliamentary election of 2008 he didn't come to any sittings of the commission. He was also absent at the first sitting of the commission on 10 July 2012.

There are some new members in the commission this time: the head of the district veteran organization Viachaslau Papou and a member of the Rechytsa District Council, the head of a “Belprambudbank” Larysa Babrounik. Teh deputy chief medic on ideology of the district hospital Zinaida Puziankova was included in the commission as a nominee of a trade union, as well as the chief engineer of the housing economy Viktar Seviarynets (who worked at the commission during the parliamentary and the presidential elections, as well as the head of the Rechytsa branch of “Belarusian Oil” enterprise Viktar Semchanka, who was nominated to the commission “by citizens”). There is also the head of the organizational and personnel department of the executive committee Ryhor Yakushau (also nominated “by citizens”), and another “citizen's nominee”, Eduard Yarashonak, who has already taken part in the election commission during the presidential election.

By the way, on 9 July, the day the election commissions were formed, the informational agency “BelTA”  wrote that there are just 99 members of the Belarusian National Youth Union, “Belaya Rus”, the veteran's association, “Red Cross” and trade unions, whereas all other members of the commissions are members of labor collectives and ordinary citizens.

We continue looking for these “ordinary citizens” among members of commissions, but still haven't found any – just found that state bosses and officials disguise as members of trade unions, “Red Cross” and “Belaya Rus”.