15 out of 19 candidates from the Belarusian Popular Front Party oppose to election boycott

2008 2008-09-09T21:05:39+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en

15 out of 19 registered candidates of the Belarusian Popular Front addressed the Soim (council) of their party with the request to review the decision on withdrawing from the ‘parliamentary elections’ by 23 September.

The statement was signed by Siarhei Antusevich (Hrodna), Leanid Autukhou (Haradok, Vitsebsk oblast), Yaraslau Bernikovich (Hlybokaye), Ales Chyhir (Babruisk), Yuras Hubarevich (Belaaziorsk), Vital Karatysh (Luninets), Uladzimir Kazeka (Dnepra-Buhskaya electoral constituency), Ryhor Kostuseu (Shklou), Mikalai Liashchun (Lahoisk), Ales Mikhalevich (Minsk, Uruccha electoral constituency), Vadzim Saranchukou (Hrodna), Ivan Sheha (Slonim) Zmitser Shymanski (Brest), Stanislau Sudnik (Lida) and Andrei Yurkou.

‘We state our readiness and wish to hold a full-scale agitation campaign including participation in the voting. At the same time, we do not rule out the possibility of withdrawing our candidacies with taking into consideration the development of the situation in each electoral constituency, or in the case a solidary decision is reached for withdrawal of all candidates from the Untied democratic forces or all candidates from the BPF Party at least,’ reads the statement.