viasna on patreon

BPF «Adradzhenne» to Name Winners of Its Prize on 25 March

2007 2007-03-20T10:00:00+0200 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

Belarusian Popular Front has nominated candidates for its prize. Policymakers, musicians and scholars well known in Belarus are on the short list of nominees publicized by the organizing committee. The Prize supports the initiatives, which were implemented last year. Chairman of the jury artist Aliaksei Marachkin told RFE/RL , the prizewinners would be named on March 25.

Politician and publicist Paval Seviarynets, Valiantisna Tryhubovich, organizer of the round tables on the issue of freedom of religion in Belarus, and Ina Kebikava, a fired teacher who managed to defend her rights, are competing for the prize in the “Civic activity” category.

In the “Culture” category musician Zmitser Sasnousky, one of the founders of the “Free Theatre” Uladzimir Scherban, and musical producer Vital Supranovich are short listed. In the ”Education /Science ” category publisher Zmitser Kolas, author of the concept of the Baltic –Black seas’ collector Stanislau Husak and economist Valeri Dashkevich (posthumously) are nominated.

The decision to found the Prize was made two months ago. The BPF “Adradzhenne” NGO is the founder and organizer of the Prize. According to the concept, the Prize highlights the outstanding achievements in the sphere of civic activities, culture, science and education aimed at facilitation of the state independence of Belarus, its cultural identity, confirmation of values of freedom and democracy in our country.

The Jury is represented by art expert Vaclau Areshka, translator Liavon Barshcheuski, politicians Vincuk Viacorka and Aliaksei Yanukevich, public activist Valiantsina Sviatskaya, and film director Siarhei Pataranski. Artist Aliaksei Marachkin was elected head of the jury.

Latest news