viasna on patreon

Macedonia joined EU sanctions against Belarus

2006 2006-07-21T10:00:00+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

Macedonia is among ten states that joined economic sanctions imposed by the European Union against 36 high Belarus officials, including the country president Alexander Lukashenko.

On 18 May, EU adopted decision on freezing the assets of Belarus officials, due to alleged fraud on 19 March elections and break-up of opposition demonstrations.

Besides Macedonia, EU decision was also joined by Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Romania, Norway, Serbia and Croatia, the European Union Council announced.

These countries are to harmonize their national policies with the common position of EU.

The measure applies to ministers, prosecutors and election organizers in regions and follows April`s decision on travel ban against Lukashenko and his affiliates.

Lukashenko is heading the list of officials whose assets are frozen, followed by the head of presidential administration Genadi Neviglas, ministers of education, of information, of judiciary, as well as the president of House of Commons and the head of KGB security service.

EU measure means that no assets or economic resources would become available, either directly or indirectly, to persons affected.

Latest news