viasna on patreon

Borough Referendum Commissions: No Opposition Members

2004 2004-09-22T10:00:00+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

On 15 September Minsk authorities created borough referendum commissions. On September 21 the list of commissions’ members was published. All 9 borough commissions are located at the office buildings of Minsk borough administrations and have no members of political parties in opposition.
Vice versa, there are 6 members of BRSM (pro-Lukashenka youth union), 4 members of CPB, and 4 liberal-democrats – all three organizations have actively supported the referendum and campaign to vote for Alexander Lukashenka.

Every borough commission also has a representative of the city council and a member of the city executive committee. Other structures represented in the commission are educational and health care institutions, official trade unions, and societies of veterans and the disabled, reports RFE/RL.

Latest news