Violent Detentions at Protest Action in Minsk

2004 2004-07-21T10:00:00+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

At 6 p.m. the unauthorized mass action of protest against the 10th anniversary of A. Lukashenka’s presidency started in Yakub Kolas Square in the center of Minsk.

At about 6.15 p.m. special police troops ringed the action participants near the central supermarket and started to massacre them and then pull into their buses. The action was dispersed. At first there were detained more than 50 persons. About 40 persons who were going to Minsk Savetski Borough Board of Internal Affairs (BBIA) to support the detainees who were kept there, were detained on the way and driven about 20 kilometers out of Minsk.

At 8.20 p.m. the police detained Uladzimir Kishkurna’s car in the place of the officially permitted action in Banhalor Square. They escorted the car to Minsk Savetski BBIA. At 9.15 p.m. in Kulman Street the police also detained the car of the deputy of Minsk District Deputy Soviet Yury Zankovich on the way home from the action.

Here’s the list of the detainees, which may be incomplete:

1. Yawhen Afnahel
2. Andrey Asmalowski (from Maladechna)
3. Anastasiya Azarka
4. Zmitser Bandarenka – coordinator of the civil initiative “Charter-97”
5. Aliaksandr Belanowski
6. Pavel Belanowski
7. Anatol Belski (from Barysaw)
8. Dzianis Bystryk
9. Zmitser Dashkevich
10. Pavel Dzemidziuk – (from Brest, beaten in the police bus)
11. Artur Finkevich
12. Yuliya Harachka
13. Barys Haretski
14. Maksim Hromaw
15. Mikhail Kandrashow
16. Ruslan Kharkevich
17. Pavel Khivuk – member of Human Rights Center “Viasna” from Brest (pulled into the car with the number 0739 MA)
18. Anton Kishkurna
19. Uladzimir Kishkurna
20. Ihar Kliwko
21. Aleh Korban
22. Maksim Kozel (from Navahrudak)
23. Aliaksandr Kozik
24. Liubow Kuchynskaya
25. Siarhey Liatko
26. Aliaksey Liawkovich
27. Aliaksey Malchanaw
28. Hleb Malinowski
29. Valery Mazynski
30. Pavel Mikulovich
31. Ales Monich
32. Zmitser Monich
33. Yawhen Palishchuk
34. Fiodar Pawliuchenka
35. Kiryl Rabykin
36. Mikalay Shaplyha
37. Mark Shubaraw
38. Ivan Shutko
39. Artsiom Skarabahaty
40. Siarhey Skarabets
41. Katsiaryna Smirnova
42. Ales Vasilewski
43. Aliaksey Vaskovich
44. Viktar Yanutsevich
45. Zmitser Vaytko
46. Maksim Vinarski
47. Yaraslaw Yawdachkow
48. Pavel Yukhnevich
49. Ihar Zhezawtsew
50. Yury Ziankovich