Only officials on Mazyr district election commission

2015 2015-07-22T13:03:38+0300 2015-07-22T13:03:38+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

The Mazyr district election commission was formed yesterday at a joint meeting of the district executive committee and the Mazyr District Council. It turned out that before the meeting a working group had been created to review the documents received for inclusion in the district election commission.

There were a total of 19 candidates. “A representative of the District Council said that the procedure of discussing and including or refusal to include a citizen in the commission were not set by law, and the authorities were not obliged to give reasons for their decisions. The main criterion is the experience of participating in the work of election commissions and membership in the major political and public organizations. It was proposed to vote for the list,” said human rights activist Uladzimir Tseliapun who was present at the meeting.

The meeting lasted 22 minutes.

No representatives of opposition parties were nominated to the district election commission.

As a result, the election commissioners include head of organizational and personnel work of the executive committee Veranika Baikova (as a representative of the trade union), chief physician of local clinic Ihar Baranau (as a representative of Belaya Rus), head of BPS-Bank’s office Mikalai Dziahtserau (nominated by a group of citizens), director of the Kalor enterprise Piotr Zykun (nominated by the labor collective), as well as head teacher at a local school, head of the emergency situations department and chief editor of the government-run newspaper Žyccio Paliessia.

Uladzimir Tseliapun notes that most of the commission members earlier worked as election officials.

"Human Rights Defenders for Free Elections"