Biaroza: not all members of district election commission are trusted to verify signatures

2010 2010-11-10T01:43:03+0200 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

On 8 November the Biaroza District Election Commission held a sitting to announce the results of the verification of the signatures in support of the potential presidential candidates. As it follows from the voiced information, the signatures were verified by just 6 members of the election commission: Ya.Kashtalian, V.Kuzmin, H.Muratava, A.Nelipovich, A.Pralich and M.Redzko.

It’s quite interesting that Ya.Kashtalian, H.Muratava and A.Nelipovich are officers of the Biaroza District Executive Committee, A.Pralich is the second secretary of the Biaroza town organization of the Belarusian Republican Youth Union (BRSM), V.Kuzmin is the Deputy Chairperson on ideology of the local housing office.  Five of them were members of the district election commission during the previous election, while M.Redzko was a member of a precinct election commission at that time.

The remaining 7 members of the Biaroza District Election Commission didn’t participate in the verification of the signatures – they could just watch it. According to the official, the verification was conducted with the participation of 5 outer experts.

Human Rights Defenders for Free Elections

слухаць Радыё рацыя Міжнародная федэрацыя правоў чалавека Беларуская Інтэрнэт-Бібліятэка КАМУНІКАТ Грамадзкі вэб-архіў ВЫТОКІ Антидискриминационный центр АДЦ 'Мемориал' Беларускі Праўны Партал Межрегиональная правозащитная группа - Воронеж/Черноземье
Московская Хельсинкская группа
Молодежное Правозащитное Движение
amnesty international