Brest region: territorial election commissions headed by representatives of local vertical

2010 2010-10-12T18:12:38+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

The official website of the Brest Regional Executive Committee, published the information about the chairpersons, deputy chairpersons and secretaries of the territorial election commissions of the Brest region. The publication tells the readers their names, places of work and official positions. However, there’s no information about all other members of the commissions.

As it follows from this information, the governing positions in almost all territorial commissions are occupied by officials of the local executive committees, heads of large enterprises and state institutions. However, there are some exceptions: there are five pensioners and one entrepreneur at the governing positions of the commissions. The Leninski District Election Commission is headed by the pensioner Tamara Navumavets.

A total of 21 territorial election commissions were formed in the Brest region. 12 of them are headed by officers of executive committees, 7 – by heads of state enterprises and institutions, 1 – by the chairperson of the Brest regional organization of the official trade union and another one – by a pensioner. The deputy chairpersons of the commissions are: - 6 officers of executive committees, 10 heads of state enterprises and institutions, 3 representatives of trade unions, 1 pensioner and 1 entrepreneur. The secretaries: 14 officers of executive committees, 3 pensioners, 3 representatives of state enterprises and institutions and 1 representative of the Brest regional organization of the ‘state NGO’ Belarusian Republican Youth Union (BRSM).

Human Rights Defenders for Free Elections