Interesting facts about Polatsk town election commission

2010 2010-02-01T23:09:40+0200 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

7 out of 13 members of the Polatsk town election commission were members of this very commission during the previous parliamentary elections.

State officials hold a majority in the commission. There is also a complete set of pro-governmental ‘state NGOs’, Belaya Rus, Belarusian Republican Youth Union (BRSM), Belarusian Women’s Union, pro-governmental trade unions and communists from the loyal Communist Party of Belarus. L.Shcharova, a representative of the Belarusian United Leftist Party Fair Wolrd who used to be a member of the commission before, wasn’t included this time.

It’s quite interesting that places of work of members of the commission aren’t published in the state press, that’s why only highly motivated citizens of Polatsk who attentively follow the local news know that the directorate comprises more than 2/3rd of the commission, though such information is not closed according to the legislation.

L.Lysionak, officer of the Polatsk executive committee, remains the invariable Chairperson of the Polatsk town election commission during the last electoral campaigns.