Mahiliow Circuit Electoral Commissions Will Have No Opposition Members

2004 2004-08-02T10:00:00+0300 1970-01-01T03:00:00+0300 en The Human Rights Center “Viasna” The Human Rights Center “Viasna”
The Human Rights Center “Viasna”

On 2 August 2004 the joint sitting of the Presidium of Mahiliow Regional Deputy Soviet and Mahiliow Regional Executive Committee took place. At the sitting, presided by the head of Mahiliow REG Barys Bytura, there were established 13 circuit electoral commissions on election to the Chamber of Representatives of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus of the third Convocation for Mahiliow region. Maximal number of members – 13, was appointed to every commission. So, 258 applications were filed for 169 places. 52 of them were from political parties, 77 – from electors. None of several dozens of oppositional candidates were included to the commissions. The officials declined them on the following reasons: “too young” (S. Niahatsin, 27 years, Belarusian People’s Front Party), “inexperienced”, “incorrect forming of documents”, etc.

In fact, the lists of members of the electoral commissions were composed before the beginning of the sitting. One of the sitting participants, Mr. Sivaylaw, stated:
-- We will consider only the candidates who weren’t included into the commissions.

None of those who were included were discussed at the sitting. The first sittings of the established circuit electoral commissions will take place on 3 August.

The described sitting was attended by the representative of Human Rights Center “Viasna” Barys Bukhel.

2 August 2004, prepared by Aliaksey Kolchyn